Juan Roman Riquelme still dreaming of a place in Argentina’s Copa America squad

Posted: June 3, 2011 in Bolasepak

Currently on the sidelines with an abductor injury, Roman nevertheless refuses to give up his dream of making Sergio Batista’s Copa America squad

Riquelme has revealed that he still dreams of being involved in Argentina’s Copa America challenge this July, despite being once more struck down with injury in the Clausura as the season winds to a close.

When fit, the influential number 10 has been in very impressive form, and is Boca’s joint top scorer in 2011 with four goals. But injuries have restricted him to just nine starts out of 15, and he is currently on the sidelines with an abductor problem.

Nevertheless, as the countdown begins for Argentina coach Sergio Batista to announce the 22 players who will contest the tournament, Riquelme still believes that he has the chance to make it.

“My feeling is that ‘Checho’ has his team, more or less – his squad as well. But I am dreaming of making it. It is the last Copa America that I could participate in. As long as the list hasn’t been announced, I will not give up on my dream of being there,” the 32-year-old admitted to Radio Mitre on Thursday evening.

“I hope that I can be there, it is going to be a great party and I think Argentina have the chance to win the Copa, I really want to be a part of that. I will try to do my best in the games remaining, and try to play better than ever when I return. Then I will wait to see if ‘Checho’ puts me on the list of those who play the Copa.”

Riquelme has not figured for the Albiceleste since resigning from the team during the tenure of Diego Maradona, although Batista has said repeatedly in the past that the playmaker could return if he can prove his fitness. He will not play on Sunday against Newell’s Old Boys as he continues his recovery from injury.

Leave a Reply

